Advice from the trenches

advanved maternal age, babies, baby advice, first pregnancy, first time moms, infant, mom advice, motherhood, newborn

1. Do not buy any baby clothes that you have to pull over their heads. They hate getting dressed. Having shit jammed over their big noggins must remind them of trying to descend the birth canal…just don’t do it to them. Buy ONLY kimono style things that SNAP or ZIP.

2. All shirts MUST HAVE MITTEN FOLD OVER THINGS attached!!!! Those little nails are terrifying, the separate mittens do not stay on. This is huge. You don’t want to worry about them clawing their face in the middle of the night. Or your boob.

3. Your going to be tempted to tear the tags off of every cute thing that people buy you. People are going to love to buy you onesies and adorable newborn things. My baby was wearing 3 month old clothes by day 10 of his life. And so much of the stuff we bought or received are cute and studly, but TOTALLY STUPID! BABY CLOTHES DESIGNERS WHAT ARE YOU THINKING 89% OF THE TIME?!? I wish we could take back half the stuff we bought, and we ended up rush ordering a bunch of Baby Soy/Loved Baby clothing 5 days into his life once we learned what actually works.

4. Buy a few really nicely made items and do more laundry. Those cheap packs of onesies that pull over the head with the long sleeve arms that you bought about 10 of from Target? You will dread putting those on over his head and trying to jam his locked up chicken arms into those little sleeves. FORGET IT.

5. Get a prescription for COMPOUND ALL PURPOSE NIPPLE OINTMENT now. Before you deliver. I don’t know why it took a $200 lactation consultation for someone to tell me about this stuff. Ask you doctor, or doctor’s nurse to get you a prescription, find a specialty pharmacy that makes compounds, and have it on hand immediately. It’s the best $50 I’ve ever spent.

6. The ugly undies they have for you at the hospital? Grab as many pairs as you can. The ones they had for me are like boy shorts, super comfy, go up high so they don’t irrate my c-section incision, and I’m still walking around in them 2 weeks later.

7. If you are planning on a c-section or have had one, C-panties will be your best friend. The high waisted ones. Again, I wish I hadn’t waited a week post-surgery to discover them.

8. Why on earth do they make nursing bras out of lycra and icky material?!?!?!? I only have two cotton nursing bras and am obsessed with them because they are SOFT. DUH!!!

9. Pooping. It’s an issue. Especially with a c-section and the pain killers that cause constipation, but I’ve had other friends go through agony from vaginal tearing as well. So again: KIWIS. Try and eat two kiwis a day. One first thing in the morning, and one at night. I skipped the stool softeners they wanted me to get because I felt like I had enough drugs in my system…and kiwi plus an avocado a day, with lots of H20 and warm teas kept everything running smoothly. Trust me on this.

10. Schedule a session with a lactation consultant a couple weeks out. Once you’ve been at it for a while. Even if things are going well, it’s great to know that you’re not just winging it, get all your crazy questions answered, have someone stare at your nipples and make sure everything looks good. I was on the fence about this because I knew the baby was packing on the ounces in a serious way…but I did have soreness that I wasn’t sure was “normal”, and the peace of mind from the consultation is worth every penny.

11. You can’t have enough cross over shirts, tank-tops and cardigans. Regular crew-neck shirts will not work when you have to be able to take out your boob every couple of hours. So farewell lululemon yoga tops that I loved all throughout my pregnancy. Hello criss cross nursing shirts that I can pull down.

12. The belly band is nice. It worked for me. My tummy shrank a lot faster when I started wearing it a few hours a day.

13. If you use a pacifier at the hospital, get multiple pacifiers of the same brand. Our hospital used an Advent Soothie and that’s the only one the baby will allow in his mouth now.

14. As much as we wanted (and still want) to use eco friendly diapers, the Huggies with the indicator strip that they used at the hospital have been a life saver in the middle of the night (and in general). My husband really appreciates the lack of guess work.

Leave a Reply

